Alberta Soccer celebrates 2015 award winners

Jubilee Trophy winners Edmonton Victoria recognised with Golden Shoe

Jubilee Trophy winners Edmonton Victoria SC were Alberta Soccer Golden Shoe winners for the third straight year. The national champions were celebrated at the 2016 Alberta Soccer Awards Banquet in their home town, held on 23 January in conjunction with the Alberta Soccer Association’s Annual General Meeting.

While Edmonton Victoria SC’s women’s team were honoured as Senior Team of the Year, the Calgary Foothills U-14 Girls squad were Golden Shoe winners as the Youth Team of the Year. Last October, the Foothills won the 2015 Sport Chek National Championships U-14 Cup.

Along with the annual Alberta Soccer award winners, the province also celebrated the Alberta Major Soccer League award winners. From the men’s league, Marcel Galaszkiewicz was named MVP and Munib Koric was named Coach of the Year; from the women’s league, Heather Lund was named MVP and Raf Premji was named Coach of the Year.

Other award recipients on the evening were: Pearl Doupe for the President’s Award; Barry White for the Shield of Merit; Jorge Rodriguez for the Bert Goldberger Technical Leader Award; Wayne Cleverly for Physical Literacy Coach of the Year; Lorne Soles for Golden Whistle Award; Kurtis Nozack for Silver Badge Award; Melody Martyn for Woman of Distinction Award; Alan Johnston, George Al-Haddad, Terry Boase and Peter Cade for the Award of Merit. Brent and Nancy Thorburn were honoured as Alberta Soccer Life Members.

For more information on the Alberta Soccer Association, please visit


Schedule & Results

Check out Canada Soccer’s Schedule & Results page where you can find upcoming match schedules and past results leading to highlights, photos, match data, and more.