Association celebrates 100th anniversary with awards banquet

Association celebrates annual award winners in Ottawa

To celebrate the 100th anniversary of the Canadian Soccer Association, a sumptuous was held on 5 May 2012 in Ottawa, ON.

FIFA President Joseph S. Blatter, FIFA Executive Committee Member representing CFU Jeffrey Webb, CONCACAF General Secretary Ted Howard, Federación Mexicana de Fútbol Associación President Justino Compeán, Fédération Française de Football Vice-Président Bernard Desumer and United States Soccer Federation President Sunil K. Gulati were amongst the distinguished guests in attendance that night.

The special night was hosted by two well-known figure in our soccer community in Gerry Dobson, the voice of Canadian soccer on TV, and former Women’s National Team coach and The Soccer Hall of Fame honoured member, Sylvie Béliveau.

In addition to commemorating the past, present and future of Canadian soccer, the Centenary banquet also marked this year’s awards presentation.

The 2012 Ray Morgan Award was presented to this year’s referee whose performance at the national and international levels was the most deserving: Joe Fletcher. Fletcher started his referee career at the young age of 14 in his hometown of Niagara Falls, ON. He went on to represent Canada in Major League Soccer, CONCACAF and FIFA tournaments. This summer, he will add the Olympic Football Tournament to his growing referee résumé.

The International Achievement Award recognizses officials that have been on the FIFA List of Referees or Assistant Referees for a minimum of five consecutive years in addition to having performed in a number of matches and carried themselves as worthy ambassadors for the Canadian Soccer Association and its member associations. Darci Kruse, one of this year’s recipients, has demonstrated her leadership officiating a 2009 Canada-USA women’s international and W-League matches and Canadian Interuniversity Sport championships the same year. The second winner of the International Achievement Award, Mauricio Navarro, left his mark on Canadian soccer by making it his mission to protect the skilled players and the overall integrity of the game.

The Aubrey Sanford Meritorious Service Award recognizes a person who has had a significant impact on the growth and development of soccer in Canada as referee, coach, player or administrator. The 2012 recipient of the award, Terry Quinn, seems to have done it all in its 34 years of involvement: President of the Canadian Soccer Association, Director of the Canadian Olympic Association, Member of the FIFA Discipline Committee, Deputy Chairman of the CONCACAF Youth Commission and Governor of The Soccer Hall of Fame and Museum, to name only a few.

The President Award is given in recognition and appreciation of outstanding and unique efforts for an extended period of time, resulting in the positive and constructive development of the world’s greatest game at the national level across Canada. Selected by past President Dr. Dominic Maestracci, this year’s recipient is known for her principle and conviction, and the work she did for the advancement of women’s soccer in Québec. Brigitte Frot is the recipient of the 2012 President’s Award.

Canada Soccer Nation Podcast

The Canada Soccer Nation Podcast hosted by Jason deVos, features engaging Canadian soccer guests speaking about a range of grassroots, coach education and club development topics. Check out all available episodes now!