Association presents annual awards

The Association honoured the 2011 recipients for the Canadian Soccer Association’s Aubrey Sanford Meritorious Service Award, Ray Morgan Memorial Award, International Achievement Award and Awards of Merit.

The Canadian Soccer Association recognised its award winners at its evening banquet in Dorion, QC tonight. The banquet was presented in conjunction with the Association’s Annual General Meeting, hosted this year by the Fédération de soccer du Québec, who is celebrating its 100th anniversary in 2011. The banquet honoured the 2011 recipients for the Canadian Soccer Association’s Aubrey Sanford Meritorious Service Award, Ray Morgan Memorial Award, International Achievement Award and Awards of Merit.

Mr. Pascal Cifarelli was presented the Aubrey Sanford Meritorious Service Award, Mr. Philippe Brière was presented the Ray Morgan Memorial Award and Mr. Steven DePiero was awarded the International Achievement Award. Two dedicated Québec soccer ambassadors, Mr. Jean Bernier and Mr. Dick Labrom, were presented the Award of Merit.

Also commended this evening were the six athlete award winners for the 2010 season. Those winners, first recognized in December, were Canadian Players of the Year Atiba Hutchsinson and Christine Sinclair, Canadian U-20 Players of the Year Ethan Gage and Jonelle Foligno, and Canadian U-17 Players of the Year Bryce Alderson and Diamond Simpson.

Mr. Cifarelli was awarded the Aubrey Sandford Meritorious Service Award in recognition for outstanding service in the growth and development of soccer in Canada. He was the Director of Corriere Italiano, Montréal’s most predominant Italian newspaper, for decades before founding Québec Soccer in 1977, which he still publishes. He has been an active participant on the provincial soccer scene since his arrival in Montréal in the 1950s; he has notably been coordinator of Québec’s Provincial Senior Championship (CPS) and President of the semi-pro Québec National Soccer League (LNSQ) in the 1980s. He is a member of Québec’s Soccer Hall of Fame.

Mr. Philippe Brière received the 2011 Ray Morgan Award which is presented every year to the referee who has shown the greatest progress at the national and international levels. Mr. Brière was the 91st Canadian appointed to the FIFA List of Referees and Assistant Referees since 1955. A bright young star, he has participated since his appointment in Major League Soccer regular season and playoff matches; six international matches in USA and Canada involving the Men’s National Teams of Canada, USA, Mexico, Honduras, Poland, and Angola; Benfica vs Panathinaikos; Impact Montréal vs AC Milan; the Nutrilite Canadian Championship; and Canadian Interuniversity Sport Sam Davidson Trophy championship.

Mr. Steven DePiero, this year’s recipient of the International Achievement Award, has completed outstanding work as an active referee within Ontario and for the Association and become a leader and an example to his fellow referees. Steve DePiero began refereeing in 1986 and quickly progressed through the ranks becoming a Nominated National in 1997, a National in 1999, and with FIFA in 2002. He has refereed at many national and international competitions, including: the World University Games (Korea Republic), the U-17 Regional World Championship Qualifications (Costa Rica), Canada Games, international friendlies, CONCACAF Champions League, FIFA U-20 World Cup Canada 2007, FIFA World Cup Qualifying, and Major League Soccer.

The two recipients of the Award of Merit were selected for their significant contribution to soccer in Canada in the area of promotion, growth and development for more than 10 years. A former elite player and current administrator, Mr. Jean Bernier served as Treasurer for the Organizing Committees of the FIFA U-17 World Cup Canada 1987 and for the FIFA U-20 World Cup Canada 2007. He was President of the Association Régionale de Soccer Concordia, served as Vice-President of the Fédération de Soccer du Québec, sat on their Technical Committee, and was a member of the Finance Committee of the Canadian Soccer Association. He was also the President and Founder of the Tournoi international de soccer challenge Brossard. He is currently a consultant for FIFA for the MA Professionalization Financial and Management Programme. He was inducted into the Québec’s Soccer Hall of Fame in 2004.

Mr. Dick Labrom is the author of the “Canadian Club Championships” report and is a “C” License Coach. He has served as the President of the Lac St-Louis Lakers Soccer Club, the Director of the Lac St-Louis Regional Soccer Association, an Executive Committee member of the Fédération de soccer du Québec, a member of the Canadian Soccer Association Competitions Committee, and a member of the Association Executive Committee (Director – Technical) and Board of Directors.

The Canadian Soccer Association congratulates all of its 2011 award recipients.

Schedule & Results

Check out Canada Soccer’s Schedule & Results page where you can find upcoming match schedules and past results leading to highlights, photos, match data, and more.