Canada 2015 celebrated at Manitoba Soccer awards

Manitoba Soccer Association’s Annual Awards Banquet.

Winnipeg staff and volunteers from this past summer’s FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015 have been honoured at the Manitoba Soccer Association’s Annual Awards Banquet. The venue staff and volunteers were an integral part of the record-setting success, with Winnipeg, Manitoba serving as one of the six official host cities to the once-in-a-lifetime experience from coast-to-coast across Canada.

The Winnipeg venue team were awarded the 2015 Manitoba Soccer President’s Award. They were one of 13 award winners celebrated at the banquet hosted on Saturday 27 February 2016 in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

The notable Outstanding Senior Player awards went to Matt Appler for the Frank Capasso Award and Anisha Kinnarath for the Christine O’Connor Award. The two youth player awards went to Tobias Kruger for the Harry Harwood Award and Madison Fordyce for the Lorrie Thompson Award.

Other award winners were Outstanding Coach Tony Mazza for the Dave Zacharias Award, Outstanding Referee Sabrina Ferraz for the Mario Perrino Award, Outstanding Official Ricardo Rodriguez for the Frank Major Award, Outstanding Senior Volunteer Kathy Podgurny for the Ralph Cantino Award, Outstanding Youth Volunteer Ronald Dueck for the Victor Batzel Award, Outstanding Volunteer Alastair Gillespie for the Fred Stambrook Award, and Cody Baldauf for the Archie Nunn Scholarship. Mrs. Pat Roe, meanwhile, was awarded with Manitoba Soccer Life Membership.

For more information on the Manitoba Soccer Association, please visit 

Schedule & Results

Check out Canada Soccer’s Schedule & Results page where you can find upcoming match schedules and past results leading to highlights, photos, match data, and more.