Canada MNT picks roster for October friendly against Ghana

4 debutants added to Canada’s pool: Fraser Aird, Marco Bustos, David “Junior” Hoilett, and Wandrille Lefèvre.

Canada has named a 24-player roster for the upcoming Men’s International Friendly match against African runners-up Ghana on 13 October 2015. The roster features a blend of experience and new faces as Canada continues preparations for November’s FIFA World Cup Qualifiers in Vancouver.

Debutants are Fraser Aird, Marco Bustos, David “Junior” Hoilett, and Wandrille Lefèvre, while returning for the first time in 2015 are Manuel Aparicio, Lucas Cavallini, Jordan Hamilton, Kianz Froese, and Simon Thomas.

“It is always important to provide an opportunity to new players to be integrated into the team from a tactical and social point of view,” said Canada’s head coach Benito Floro. “To be part of future camps and our journey to Russia 2018, it was essential we brought them into our program this month for the Ghana match.”

By the final CONCACAF round of FIFA World Cup Qualifiers in 2017, the typical national squad may feature 40 players. With the new faces this month, Benito Floro has picked 53 active players for national camps in 2015. From that group, 35 of Floro’s picks are 26 years or younger (born 1989 or later).

“Things are progressing well on all fronts and we now look forward to our next challenges,” said Floro. “We will continue to focus on our key objectives and the required performance standards for the team moving into the next stage of FIFA World Cup Qualifiers.”

As for experience, the squad features regulars like Marcel de Jong, David Edgar, André Hainault, Simeon Jackson, Adam Straith, and Tosaint Ricketts (Canada’s active international goals leader). Goalkeepers Milan Borjan and Kenny Stamatopoulos (Canada’s MVP at the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup) are also in the squad.

Beyond the friendly against Ghana in October, Canada will face Honduras, El Salvador and Mexico in the CONCACAF semi-final round of 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ Qualifiers. Canada opens the round at home on 13 November in Vancouver at BC Place, with tickets on sale now through Ticketmaster.

Fans can follow the team on Twitter @CanadaSoccerEN and contribute to the conversation using #canMNT. Video reactions and post-match reports will also be posted regularly to and CanadaSoccerTV.

1- GK- Simon Thomas | NOR / Strommen
2- M- Fraser Aird | SCO / Glasgow Rangers FC
3- FB- Samuel Adekugbe | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
4- CB- André Hainault | GER / 1. FC Magdeburg
5- CB- David Edgar | ENG / Sheffield United
6- M- Kianze Froese | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
7- M- David Hoilett | ENG / Queens Park Rangers
8- M- Kyle Bekker | CAN / Impact Montréal
9- F- Marcus Haber | ENG / Crewe Alexandra
10- F- Simeon Jackson | ENG / Barnsley FC
11- M- Tosaint Ricketts | TUR / Boluspor FC
12- CB- Nana Attakora | USA / San Antonio Scorpions
13- F- Jordan Hamilton | CAN / Toronto FC
14- CB- Adam Straith | NOR / Fredrikstad FK
15- CB- Manjrekar James | HUN / Diósgyöri VTK
16- F- Lucas Cavallini | URU / CA Fénix
17- FB- Marcel De Jong | USA / Sporting Kansas City
18- GK- Milan Borjan | BUL / PFK Ludogorets Razgrad
19- M- Maxim Tissot | CAN / Impact Montréal
20- FB- Karl Ouimette | USA / New York Red Bulls
21- CB- Wandrille Lefèvre | CAN / Impact Montréal
22- GK- Kenny Stamatopoulos | SWE / AIK Fotbol
23- M- Marco Bustos | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
24- M- Manuel Aparicio | CAN / Toronto FC II is the new home for official Canada Soccer apparel and fanwear, including customized National Team jerseys