Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team to play in the 2021 SheBelieves Cup in February

The tournament will feature USA, Brazil, Canada and Japan.

Canada Soccer has confirmed that the Women’s National Team will participate in the 2021 SheBelieves Cup presented by Visa from 18-24 February. The sixth edition of the tournament will feature USA, Brazil, Canada and Japan.

“I’m excited to get the team together for the first time to kick off an important 2021 season, as we build towards the Tokyo Olympic Games this summer,” said Bev Priestman, Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team Head Coach. “The SheBelieves Cup gives us the opportunity to face some of the top football teams in the world in a tournament setting. It will be a great opportunity to get ourselves ready for the Tokyo Olympic Games, facing different styles of play and tight turnarounds.”

The international tournament takes place at the Exploria Stadium in Orlando during the upcoming FIFA international window. Canada Soccer will continue to closely monitor all Covid-19 developments in consultation with the Public Health Agency of Canada and relevant governing bodies through the Canada Soccer Sport Medicine Committee.

Canada is scheduled to face USA on 18 February (19.00 local / 19.00 ET / 16.00 PT), Japan on 21 February (18.00 local / 18.00 ET / 15.00 PT), and Brazil on 24 February (16.00 local / 16.00 ET / 13.00 PT). More information on the tournament will be announced in February. Extended coverage across Canada Soccer’s digital channels on Facebook, YouTube, Instagram, and Twitter featuring the social media hashtag #CANWNT.

All four nations competing in the 2021 SheBelieves Cup reached the knockout phase of the last FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019 and have all since qualified for the 12-nation Tokyo 2021 Women’s Olympic Football Tournament.

Canada are two-time Olympic bronze medal winners (2012 and 2016) and two-time Concacaf champions (1998 and 2010). In all, Canada have participated in seven consecutive editions of the FIFA Women’s World Cup™ (1995 to 2019) and three consecutive editions of the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament (2008 to 2016). At Rio 2016, Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team were the first Canadian Olympic team to win back-to-back medals at a summer Olympic Games in more than a century.

CanadaSoccerStore.com is the new home for official Canada Soccer apparel and fanwear, including customized National Team jerseys