Canadian officials appointed to 2016 FIFA List of Referees and Assistant Referees

Along with the list of FIFA officials, Canada Soccer has also announced the 2016 list of national referees and assistant referees.

Canada Soccer is proud to announce that 15 officials have been named to the 2016 FIFA List of Referees and Assistant Referees. The list features seven referees and eight assistant referees.

All seven Canadian referees were in fact retained from the 2015 FIFA List. Those seven referees are Marie-Soleil Beaudin, Mathieu Bourdeau, Carol Anne Chénard, Sheena Dickson, Drew Fischer, David Gantar, and Michelle Pye.

From the eight Canadian assistant referees, seven return from the 2015 FIFA List while Richard Gamache has been appointed for the first time. The eight assistant referees are Gamache, Daniel Belleau, Chantal Boudreau, Philippe Brière, Marie-Josée Charbonneau, Joe Fletcher, Marie-Han Gagnon Chretien, and Suzanne Morisset.

Along with the list of FIFA officials, Canada Soccer has also announced the 2016 list of national referees and assistant referees. The national list includes 20 referees and 22 assistant referees. New to the national list are referee Pierre Acouri and assistant referees Sean Hornsby and Philippe Bettez-Quessy.

From this past calendar year, referees were appointed to international competitions including 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia Qualifiers (Belleau, Bourdeau, Brière, Fischer, Fletcher, and Gantar) and the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015 (Charbonneau, Chénard, Morisset, and Pye).

Also in 2015, Canadians were appointed to the CONCACAF Gold Cup (Belleau, Brière, Gantar), the CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament (Bourdeau, Fischer, Fletcher), the CONCACAF Men’s Under-20 Championship (Brière, Gantar), the CONCACAF Men’s Under-17 Championship (Bourdeau, Fischer), and the CONCACAF Women’s Under-20 Championship (Beaudoin, Boudreau, Gagnon Chretien).

In Canada, Canadians were appointed to professional matches in the Amway Canadian Championship, Major League Soccer, and the North American Soccer League. Canadians were also appointed to the Toronto 2015 Pan American Games (Beaudoin, Boudreau, Bourdeau) and Parapanamerican Games (Rudolf, Vaughan).

FIFA Referees
Marie-Soleil Beaudoin
Mathieu Bourdeau
Carol Anne Chénard
Sheena Dickson
Drew Fischer
David Gantar
Michelle Pye

FIFA Assistant Referees
Daniel Belleau
Chantal Boudreau
Philippe Brière
Marie-Josée Charbonneau
Joe Fletcher
Marie-Han Gagnon Chretien
Richard Gamache
Suzanne Morisset

National List Referees
Pierre Acouri
David Barrie
Geoff Gamble
Chris Grabas
Francis Latulippe
Pierre-Luc Lauziere
Juan Marquez
Silviu Petrescu
Alain Ruch
Yusri Rudolf
Robert Schaap
Justin Tasev
Alexis Vaughan

National List Assistant Referees
Lyes Arfa
Marco Arruda
Micheal Barwegen
Philippe Bettez-Quessy
Gianni Facchini
Sean Hornsby
Dereck Illingworth
Peter Manastyrsky
Jean-Francois Marchand
Oscar Mitchell-Carvalho
Christian Palavicino
Peter Pendli
Andre Pickler
Chris Wattam

Canada Soccer Nation Podcast

The Canada Soccer Nation Podcast hosted by Jason deVos, features engaging Canadian soccer guests speaking about a range of grassroots, coach education and club development topics. Check out all available episodes now!

Notice: Undefined variable: mode in D:\home\site\wwwroot\wp-content\themes\betheme-child\partials\page_content-related_articles.php on line 119