Douglas and Rivkin named best in Newfoundland Labrador

Newfoundland Labrador Soccer Association award winners

Goalkeeper John Douglas and midfielder Hannah Rivkin have been named Newfoundland Labrador soccer players of the year. The duo were recognised by the Newfoundland Labrador Soccer Association as part of the province’s 2016 award winners of outstanding players, coaches, and volunteers.

“2016 was a great year with tremendous competition at the local, Atlantic, national and university levels,” said Doug Redmond, President of the Newfoundland Labrador Soccer Association. “From youth players who made their mark at the Challenge Trophy and Jubilee Trophy levels, to the volunteers who make it all possible, the selection committee had some tough choices to make with their final selections. Congratulations to all award winners and nominees.”

Douglas of Grand Bank, NL won the Brian Murphy Award as the men’s player of the year. The 33-year old goalkeeper was the star of the provincial playoffs, leading St. Lawrence Laurentians to their 29th Newfoundland Labrador soccer title. In qualifying for Canada Soccer’s Challenge Trophy finals, Douglas won the Gerard Quirke Memorial Award as MVP of the provincial playoffs.

Rivkin of St. John’s, NL won the Lauren Breen Award as the women’s player of the year. The 24-year old midfielder was the star of the regular season and playoffs, leading Holy Cross SC to the provincial title. She won both the Raeleen Baggs Award as MVP of the regular season and Sherry Morrissey Award as MVP of the playoffs. In winning the Lauren Breen Award, she breaks Malorie Harris’ six-year stranglehold on the provincial honours (2010-2015).

Along with Douglas and Rivkin, other provincial award winners were Brent Hennebury as men’s Junior Players of the Year, Alexandra Murphy as women’s Junior Player of the Year, Mike Power as Coach of the Year, Ian Chaytor as Executive of the Year, Shane Dunphy as Volunteer of the Year, Shannon Tobin as Referee of the Year, and the St. John’s SC U-14 girls as Team of the Year. is the new home for official Canada Soccer apparel and fanwear, including customized National Team jerseys