Fixtures unveiled for 2012 Cyprus Women’s Cup

Organizers have unveiled the fixtures for the 2012 Cyprus Women’s Cup.

The fifth edition of the Cyprus Women’s Cup will feature defending champion Canada face Italy, Netherlands and Scotland in Group A action in 2012. The 12-team tournament runs 28 February to 6 March with the top teams from Group A and B meeting in the championship final. Canada is three-time champion of this competition, including a 2:1 a.e.t. victory over Netherlands in the 9 March 2011 final.

Canada faces Scotland on 28 February, Italy on 1 March and Netherlands on 4 March. Canada’s first two matches kick off at 17.30 local while the third match kicks off at 14.30 local. All matches are played in Larnaka, Nicosia and Paralimni.

Group B features England, Finland, France and Switzerland while Group C features Korea Republic, New Zealand, Northern Ireland and South Africa. After the group stage, the top-three teams in Groups A and B will meet in classification matches to determine 1st/2nd, 3rd/4th and 5th/6th places. The fourth-place teams from Groups A and B will meet the top-two teams from Group C to determine 7th/8th and 9th/10th places while the bottom-two teams from Group C will meet on 6 March to determine 11th/12th places.

Since 2008, Canada has won three of the four editions of the Cyprus Women’s Cup, only finishing second in 2009. Originally a six-team competition, the Cyprus Women’s Cup expanded to eight teams in 2009 and then to 12 teams in 2011. Last year’s edition featured five teams that had qualified for the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Canadian Women’s “A” Fixtures: 2012 Cyprus Women’s Cup
28 February – 17.30 – CAN : SCO
1 March – 17.30 – CAN : ITA
4 March – 14.30 – CAN : NED
6 March – TBD  – Classification match is the new home for official Canada Soccer apparel and fanwear, including customized National Team jerseys