Hooper honoured by Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame

Charmaine Hooper was inducted to Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame on 18 October 2012.

Charmaine Hooper was officially honoured by Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2012 on 18 October 2012. Hooper was inducted along with bobsledder Pierre Lueders, hockey’s Scott Niedermayer, skaters Jamie Salé and David Pelletier, rower Derek Porter, speed skater Jeremy Wotherspoon as well as builders Marion Lay and Doc Seaman. The event took place at the Calgary Telus Convention Centre. 

CONCACAF champion Charmaine Hooper was one of Canada’s best female footballers for close to two decades. She represented her country on the international stage from 1986 to 2006, participating in three FIFA Women’s World Cups. She left international football as Canada’s all-time leader with 129 appearances and 71 goals scored. She won one gold and three silver medals in CONCACAF women’s competitions (including gold in 1998).

Hooper was a three-time Canadian Player of the Year, winning the award in 1994, 1995 and 2002. She would have won the award more often had it been presented consistently throughout her career, including 2003 when she was named to the FIFA Women’s World Cup All-Star Team and 2004 when she was named a FIFA Women’s Player of the Year candidate.


CanadaSoccerStore.com is the new home for official Canada Soccer apparel and fanwear, including customized National Team jerseys