Masimengo and Cull named best in New Brunswick

Soccer New Brunswick

Héritier Masimengo and Olivia Cull were named Soccer New Brunswick Players of the Year. The two players were honoured at the Soccer NB annual awards gala in Fredericton on 1 December.

Both Masimengo and Cull starred at the university level in 2016: Masimengo with the Université de Moncton and Cull with the Université de Laval. Masimengo also played for Moncton Codiac at Canada Soccer’s U-18 Cup in Vaughan.

Other award winners were Jeff Knappe as Manager of the Year, Ahmed Ezzat as Coach of the Year, Serge Duguay as Volunteer of the Year, Fundy United U-16 as Team of the Year, and Mathew Tonks as Official of the Year. John Trainor of Moncton Codiac won the Soccer NB President’s Award.

The regional award winners for the Community Game Changer Award were Taha Maarous, Isabelle Logan, Cristina Bransfield, Lewis Rau, and Sébastien Ruel. The regional award winners for the Roland Belliveau Youth Memrial Shield (young officials) were Broke Barrieau, Julia Short, Connor Logan, Camden Sutherland, and Taylor Clark.

Guidelines for the Return to Soccer

Canada Soccer outlines return to soccer guidelines. The return to soccer guidelines provide member organizations with a five-step process, including a checklist of weighted questions known as the Return to Soccer Assessment Tool.