National Women’s Soccer League announces 2015 NWSL Awards

The 2015 NWSL Awards will be voted upon in two rounds with fans joining the voting process this season.

The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) announced today the list of 2015 NWSL Awards featuring the Golden Boot, Most Valuable Player, Defender of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Coach of the Year and Best XI. The 2015 NWSL Awards will be voted upon in two rounds with fans joining the voting process this season.

In the Preliminary Round, owners, general managers, coaches, players and the media will vote on the individual awards from 3 to 6 September to determine the top finalists. The fans will then join the voting for the Final Round from 7 to 11 September to determine the individual award winners and Best XI.

Voting Breakdown:
Preliminary Round: Owners/GMs/Coaches (25%), Media (25%) and Players (50%)
Final Round: Fans (20%), Owners/GMs/Coaches (20%), Media (20%) and Players (40%)

Fans are encouraged to support their favorite players via Facebook and Twitter using the hashtags: #NWSLMVP, #NWSLDOY, #NWSLGOY, #NWSLROY, #NWSLCOY and #NWSLBestXI.

All 2015 NWSL Award winners will be announced in the days leading up to the NWSL Championship game on Thursday, 1 October at 21.30 ET / 18.30 PT at Providence Park in Portland, Oregon, USA. Below is the complete awards announcement schedule.

2015 NWSL Awards – Announcement Schedule
Monday, 7 September: Golden Boot (#NWSLGB)
Monday, 14 September: Rookie of the Year (#NWSLROY)
Wednesday, 16 September: Goalkeeper of the Year (#NWSLGOY)
Friday, 18 September: Coach of the Year (#NWSLCOY)
Monday, 21 September: Defender of the Year (#NWSLDOY)
Wednesday, 23 September: MVP (#NWSLMVP)
Thursday, 24 September: Best XI (#NWSLBestXI)

The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) is a nine-team Division-I women’s professional soccer league featuring national team players from Canada, Mexico and USA. The nine clubs are the Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, Houston Dash, FC Kansas City, Portland Thorns FC, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC, Washington Spirit and the Western New York Flash.

The NWSL is also supported by Canada Soccer, the Federation of Mexican Football and the United States Soccer Federation. For more information about the NWSL, log on to the league’s official website at is the new home for official Canada Soccer apparel and fanwear, including customized National Team jerseys