Past President Quinn named to Canada Soccer Hall of Fame

Canada Soccer Hall of Fame ?

The late Terry Quinn has been inducted to the Canada Soccer Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2019. Quinn, the 29th President of Canada Soccer from 1992 to 1997, was inducted as an honoured member in the Builders section during Canada Soccer’s annual Awards Banquet on Saturday 4 May.

The Quinn induction was included as part of the Annual Meeting of the Members weekend in Québec City, Québec. Quinn, who passed away on 3 August 2018, was represented by family. Quinn joins previously-announced inductees Randee Hermus and Kevin McKenna in the Class of 2019. Hermus will be honoured at the Women’s National Team home match on 18 May while McKenna will be honoured at a Men’s National Team home match later this year.

In addition to the Awards, Canada Soccer’s membership elected two Board Members at the Annual Meeting of the Members. Elected to the position for Alberta and Northwest Territories was Ryan Fequet. Elected to the Atlantic Canada Director position was Dale Briggs.

Other 2019 Canada Soccer award winners celebrated on Saturday night were: Dr. Dominic Maestracci for the President’s Award; Dick Howard for the Aubrey Sanford Meritorious Service Award; Joe Fletcher for the Ray Morgan Memorial Award; Marie-Soleil Beaudoin for the International Achievement Award; and Helder Duarte for the Canada Soccer Award of Merit.

In the Canada Soccer Organisations of Distinction category, a catch-up class of eight famous organisations were honoured by the Canada Soccer Hall of Fame: Vancouver St. Andrews FC of British Columbia; Calgary Callies FC and Edmonton Scottish FC of Alberta; Winnipeg United Weston FC of Manitoba; Darlington SC and Toronto Scottish FC of Ontario; Holy Cross FC and St. Lawrence Laurentians of Newfoundland Labrador. All eight organisations will be formally honoured at an event in their respective province in the coming year.

Also honoured by the Canada Soccer Hall of Fame, Canada Soccer’s 1995 Women’s National Team – the first Canadian team to feature in the FIFA Women’s World Cup – was honoured in the Team of Distinction category. The 1995 Canadian team played three matches and scored five goals, but were ultimately eliminated in the group stage by the eventual world champions Norway. Coached by Sylvie Béliveau, the 1995 team were the first of seven consecutive appearances for Canada at the FIFA Women’s World Cup including this summer’s big event in France. 

Guidelines for the Return to Soccer

Canada Soccer outlines return to soccer guidelines. The return to soccer guidelines provide member organizations with a five-step process, including a checklist of weighted questions known as the Return to Soccer Assessment Tool.