Recipients of the 2020 Canada Soccer Nation Champions presented by Toyota announced

Recognition campaign honoured volunteers who supported Return-to-Soccer Guidelines in 2020

Canada Soccer has announced the recipients of its 2020 Canada Soccer Nation Champions presented by Toyota. The annual recognition campaign focused on honouring volunteers who supported their club or academy on protocols under Canada Soccer’s Return-to-Soccer Guidelines in 2020.

“Volunteers provided vital support to community clubs and academies from coast-to-coast in the face of the global coronavirus pandemic during a difficult 2020 Canadian soccer season,” said Dr. Nick Bontis, Canada Soccer President. “By supporting Canada Soccer’s Return-to-Soccer Guidelines, developed in collaboration with and in support of our Member Associations, the 2020 Canada Soccer Nation Champions presented by Toyota recipients exemplified the dedication and sacrifice that merit recognition of the countless volunteers who support the game in this country.”

After announcing the suspension of all sanctioned soccer in March 2020 in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, Canada Soccer, led by its Medical Committee and in collaboration with its Member Associations, set forward its Return-to-Soccer Guidelines in support of the development of Public Health protocols guiding the safe return to in-person training and soccer activity.

Member Organizations across the country were guided by the protocols developed and as such were required to facilitate a soccer experience in consideration of the safety measures required to ensure safe sport. Canada Soccer launched Canada Soccer Nation Champions presented by Toyota in recognition of the extraordinary circumstances and corresponding requirements.

The recipients for 2020 Canada Soccer Nation Champions presented by Toyota are:

Alberta: Roxanne Boyce – St. Albert Soccer Association
British Columbia: Spiro Pegios – Surrey United Soccer Club
Manitoba: Bobbi Schram – Westman Regional Soccer Association
Nova Scotia: Lindsay Van Kessel – Thunder FC
Prince Edward Island: Kara Sabean – Kensington Soccer
Ontario: Dan De Maria – Guelph Soccer
Quebec: Benoît Brabant – Deltas de Laval
Saskatchewan: Chad Striker – Swift Current Soccer Association

Nominations for Canada Soccer Nation Champions were open to Member Organization clubs and academies to nominate volunteers that met all of Canada Soccer’s Safe Sport Roster considerations including a valid background check, up-to-date Respect Group, Inc. training credentials, and the Member Organization being a member in good standing of a Canada Soccer Member Association.

Visit for details on the individual recipient’s contributions.

Canada Soccer Nation Podcast

The Canada Soccer Nation Podcast hosted by Jason deVos, features engaging Canadian soccer guests speaking about a range of grassroots, coach education and club development topics. Check out all available episodes now!