Russell Teibert wins 2015 George Gross Memorial Trophy

Midfielder Teibert, 22, was participating in his record fifth Amway Canadian Championship since 2011

Russell Teibert has won the George Gross Memorial Trophy after being selected most valuable player of the 2015 Amway Canadian Championship. Teibert won the award after leading Vancouver Whitecaps FC to the 2015 national title, helping his team clinch a spot in 2016-17 CONCACAF Champions League.

Midfielder Teibert, 22, was participating in his record fifth Amway Canadian Championship since 2011. He played three matches in 2015, helping the Whitecaps eliminate both FC Edmonton and Montréal Impact FC en route to the national title.

The George Gross Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the Amway Canadian Championship’s most valuable player. Previous winners are Matt Jordan in 2008, Dwayne De Rosario in 2009 and 2010, Joao Plata in 2011, Ryan Johnson in 2012, and Justin Mapp in 2013 and 2014.

Mr. George Gross had a prestigious career as a sports writer in Toronto, writing for the Toronto Telegram, the Soccer and Sport News (as publisher) and Toronto Sun (as founding sports editor). He served as one of the founders of the Eastern Professional Soccer League and also general manager of Toronto City Soccer Club in the early 1960s. In recognition of his years of service to sport, he was inducted to Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame in 2005 and to The Soccer Hall of Fame in 2006. He passed away on 21 March 2008 at age 85. 

Guidelines for the Return to Soccer

Canada Soccer outlines return to soccer guidelines. The return to soccer guidelines provide member organizations with a five-step process, including a checklist of weighted questions known as the Return to Soccer Assessment Tool.