Saskatchewan celebrates 2015 award winners

Saskatchewan Soccer Association

The Saskatchewan Soccer Association celebrated their best of 2015 at the annual Technical & Recognition Awards. Winners included Male Player of the Year Garrett Peters and Female Athlete of the Year Meagan Manson.

The 19 March awards night was held in conjunction with the Saskatchewan Soccer Association’s 2016 annual meeting in Saskatoon, SK.

Other player award winners were Kelly Lowry as Youth Male Player of the Year, Sarah Ochitwa as Youth Female Player of the Year, and Kendra Varjassy as Grassroots Player of the Year. Coach winners were Jerson Barandica-Hamilton as Senior Coach of the Year, Edmund Mupondwa as Youth Coach of the Year, and Shelley Krahenbil as Grassroots Coach of the Year; referee winners were Chris Coxon as Referee of the Year and Zach Wagner as Grassroots Referee of the Year. Leslie Blyth was the Volunteer of the Year, Don Findlay was the David Newsham Outstanding Volunteer Award winner, and Alfredo Bermudez was the President’s Award winner.

The three teams of the year were University of Saskatchewan women as Senior Team of the Year, Lakewood Atletico U-14 Boys as Youth Team of the Year, and Battleford Santos U-16 Boys as Grassroots Team of the Year.

On the evening, the Saskatchewan Soccer Association also recognized winners of the Premier League. Golden Boot winners were Roderigo Santamaria and Spencer Steele (U-16 Boys), Emma Manson (U-16 Girls), Nick Fetsch (U-14 Boys), and Olivia Gables (U-14 Girls); shutout award winners were Zach Shearer (U-16 Boys), Hope Pelk (U-16 Girls), Ethan Jaster, Emmett Steadman, and Jordan Hangs (U-14 Boys), and Delaney Epp (U-14 Girls). is the new home for official Canada Soccer apparel and fanwear, including customized National Team jerseys