Soccer honored at 40th Gala Sports Québec

Awards for Rhian Wilkinson, Royal Sélect de Beauport and Dominique Maestracci

With a bronze medal in the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament at London 2012, a silver medal at the CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying in 2012 in Vancouver and a gold medal at the Pan American Games, the midfielder Rhian Wilkinson edged Montreal Impact midfielder Patrice Bernier and wheelchair basketball player David Eng to win the Maurice athlete of team sport on the international stage at the 40th Gala Sports Québec Tuesday 30 April in downtown Montreal.

Rhian Wilkinson becomes the second representative of soccer to win two individual awards at Gala Sport Québec since Sonia Denoncourt was elected (three times) Official of the Year in 1994, 1996 and 1999.

In addition, the senior men’s team Royal Sélect de Beauport, Canadian amateur champion in 2012 (Canadian Soccer Association National Club Championships), edged the Shawinigan Cataractes, the Memorial Cup champions, and the Rouge et Or football team from Laval University, Vanier Cup champions, to win the Maurice Team of the Year. Directed by Samir Ghrib, they became the first Quebec team to win the Challenge Trophy since 1998 and the first team from outside Montreal since 1995.

Finally, the outgoing president of the Canadian Soccer Association, Dominique Maestracci received the Dollard-Morin National Volunteer Award for his role in getting Canada to host the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in 2014 and the FIFA Women’s World Cup in 2015.

Gala Sports Québec Soccer Recipients:
2013 – Athlete international team sport: Rhian Wilkinson
2013 – Team of the Year: Royal de Beauport
2013 – Price Dollard-Morin, Volunteer of the Year: Dominique Maestracci
2010 – Male Athlete team sport Reda Agourram
2009 – Selection Team of the Year: Quebec U-18 M
2008 – Athlete of the Year in team sport: Rhian Wilkinson
2007 – Club Team of the Year: Lakers du Lac St-Louis U-18 M
2007 – Price Dollard-Morin, Volunteer of the Year: Francis Millien
2007 – International Event of the Year: FIFA U-20 World Cup 2007
2007 – Sport Federation of the Year: Soccer Quebec
2005 – Price Dollard-Morin, Volunteer of the Year: Pierre Marchand
2004 – Canadian Event of the Year: Canadian Senior Championships club
2003 – Team Selection Year: Team Quebec U-15 F
2003 – Price Dollard-Morin, Volunteer of the Year: Dino Madonis
2002 – Club Team of the Year: Dynamo Quebec U-16 F
1999 – Official of the Year: Sonia Denoncourt
1999 – Price Dollard-Morin, Volunteer of the Year: Jean-Yves Phaneuf
1996 – Official of the Year: Sonia Denoncourt
1995 – Official of the Year: Sonia Denoncourt
1982 – Team of the Year: Green Sherbrooke Junior Women
1980 – Official of the Year: Dino Soupliotis

Canada Soccer Nation Podcast

The Canada Soccer Nation Podcast hosted by Jason deVos, features engaging Canadian soccer guests speaking about a range of grassroots, coach education and club development topics. Check out all available episodes now!