Stage set for decisive night in Championship semi-finals

Live coverage on Sportsnet ONE begins at (19.00 ET / 16.00 PT).

Action in the 2013 Amway Canadian Championship is set to continue on Wednesday evening with FC Edmonton and Impact Montréal hoping to come from behind to prevent a fifth-consecutive final between Toronto FC and Vancouver Whitecaps FC.

In the night’s first match, the Impact will be looking to claw back a two-goal deficit after Toronto FC’s 2:0 home win in the first-leg of the semi-final tie between the two teams on 24 April. Montréal will host Toronto at Stade Saputo (19.45 local kick-off) with the match live on Sportsnet ONE (19.30 ET / 16.30 PT).

The action will then shift West as Whitecaps FC will be looking to finish the job at home to FC Edmonton after coming from behind to pick up a 3:2 win over the Edmontonians in last week’s first leg at Commonwealth Stadium. Vancouver and Edmonton will do battle at BC Place (19.15 local kick-off), the match will also be live on Sportsnet ONE (22.00 ET / 19.00 PT).

Fans will also be able to follow limited live coverage of Wednesday’s night’s Amaway Canadian Championship matches on Twitter: @CanadaSoccerEN. Highlights from all Championship matches will be available on CanadaSoccerTV.

The winner of the Toronto-MontrĂ©al semi-final will go on to face the winner of the Edmonton-Vancouver tie for the right to hoist the Voyageurs Cup. The winner of the 2013 Amway Canadian Championship will go on to be Canada’s lone representative in the 2013-14 CONCACAF Champions League.

The home-and-away Championship final will be played on 15 and 29 May.

Note(s):

  • TIE-BREAKER RULES
    If the two teams score the same number of goals over the two legs, the team which scores more away goals is determined as the winner. If this tie-breaker does not produce a winner, then both teams will play two 15-minute periods of extra time after the second leg. If, during extra time, both teams score the same number of goals, the away goals will count as double in favour of the visiting team. If no goals are scored during extra time, then kicks from the penalty mark (in accordance with FIFA Laws of the Game) will be used to determine the winner.

Amway Candian Championship highlights on CanadaSoccerTV: 

Canada Soccer Nation Podcast

The Canada Soccer Nation Podcast hosted by Jason deVos, features engaging Canadian soccer guests speaking about a range of grassroots, coach education and club development topics. Check out all available episodes now!