Toronto FC host second leg of 2019 Canadian Championship Final

Toronto FC host Montréal Impact at BMO Field on Wednesday 25 September in the 2019 Canadian Championship Final presented by Allstate with the Voyageurs Cup as […]

Toronto FC host Montréal Impact at BMO Field on Wednesday 25 September in the 2019 Canadian Championship Final presented by Allstate with the Voyageurs Cup as Canadian Championship winners and a place in the 2020 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League on the line. Montréal Impact won the opening leg on 18 September at Stade Saputo 1:0 on an Ignacio Piatti goal in the 17’. The second leg will stream LIVE on starting with a 30-minute pre-game show at 6:30 p.m. ET/ 3:30 p.m. PT.
Montréal Impact advanced to the Final defeating Cavalry FC in the Semi-Final Round and York9 FC in the Qualifying Round 3 where they entered the competition. Toronto FC advanced after defeating Ottawa Fury FC in the Semi-Final Round. The 2018 Canadian Championship winners held a bye to the Semi-Final Round. 
Inaugurated in 2008, the Canadian Championship has featured more than 300 Canadian players and drawn more than one million cumulative spectators across the history of the competition. This year marks the first time that the Canadian Championship has featured 13 clubs from five leagues across five rounds.
“The 2019 Canadian Championship showcases Canada Soccer’s leadership in growing opportunities in the game for players, coaches, referees, and administrators,” said Peter Montopoli, Canada Soccer General Secretary. “This 24-match, 13-team Canadian Championship, with teams across five different leagues, is a testament to the ever-growing footprint of soccer at the highest level in Canada. We wish both Toronto FC and Montréal Impact the best in the second leg.”
In addition to the Voyageurs Cup trophy presentation, the George Gross Memorial Trophy will be given to the 2019 Canadian Championship Most Valuable Player and, new in 2019, a Best Young Canadian Player award will be given to the U-21 Canadian International that has shown the biggest impact on this year’s Canadian Championship.
Toronto FC and Montréal Impact have both previously been Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League Finalists. As 2017 Canadian Championship winners, Toronto FC advanced to the 2018 Final falling in penalty kicks away to Chivas Guadalajara in the second leg. Montréal Impact, as 2014 Canadian Championship winners advanced to the 2014-15 Concacaf Champions League Final before suffering a 2:4 loss at home to eventual champions Club America. 
The Canadian Championship winner will join 10 other direct entrants into the 2020 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League. Mexico’s Club America, UANL, Cruz Azul, and Leon qualified through the 2018-19 Liga MX season which places the winner and runners-up of the Apertura and Clausura competitions into Concacaf Champions League. Major League Soccer’s LAFC and Atlanta United have also qualified as direct entrants with two more MLS teams due to qualify by season’s end. As well, Jamaica’s Portmore United have qualified via the Concacaf Caribbean Club Championship.
2020 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League matchups will be determined by a draw scheduled for December 2019. The competition will kick off in February 2020 with the Final played over two legs in April 2020.
About the Canadian Championship
The Canadian Championship is Canada Soccer’s highest domestic professional soccer competition and is the sole qualification route for Canadian professional clubs into Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League.
Dubbed the Battle of the North, the Championship sets itself apart from all North American professional sports competitions that operate on both sides of the border as the only one to hold an all-Canadian competition that leads to the international stage.  The winner has the opportunity to compete in international competition including the Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League and ultimately the FIFA Club World Cup.
As Canada Soccer’s highest domestic professional soccer competition, Canadian Content is a focus of the competition and since 2017 the Canadian Content rule has required that three eligible Canadian internationals start each match with nearly 60% of the starting line-ups in the 2019 edition featuring Canadians. 
In 2019, the Canadian Championship will feature 13 teams including three Major League Soccer clubs, Toronto FC, Montréal Impact FC and Vancouver Whitecaps FC; United Soccer League’s Ottawa Fury FC; seven Canadian Premier League clubs, FC Edmonton, Forge FC, Valour FC, Cavalry FC, HFX Wanderers FC, Pacific FC, and York9 FC; Première Ligue de Soccer du Québec’s AS Blainville; and League1 Ontario champions Vaughan Azzurri.
The Voyageurs Cup has been awarded to the Canadian Championship winner since 2008. Created by the Voyageurs Canadian Supporters group, the trophy represents Canadian fans’ commitment to the game in our country. The George Gross Memorial Trophy recognises the Canadian Championship’s Most Valuable Player, with Jonathan Osorio the 2018 winner. The award is named after the late George Gross, an honoured member of the Canada Soccer Hall of Fame. New in 2019, the Best Young Canadian Player Award recognises the player 21 years or younger who makes the biggest impact in the Canadian Championship.

About Canada Soccer
Canada Soccer, in partnership with its membership and its partners, provides leadership in the pursuit of excellence in soccer, both at the national and international levels. Canada Soccer not only strives to lead Canada to victory, but also encourages Canadians to a life-long passion for soccer. For more details on Canada Soccer, visit the official website at

Canada Soccer Nation Podcast

The Canada Soccer Nation Podcast hosted by Jason deVos, features engaging Canadian soccer guests speaking about a range of grassroots, coach education and club development topics. Check out all available episodes now!